Hermiting

I adore hermiting. I need to hermit often actually. Recharge, mull things over, give my brain a rest, put things mentally where they need to go, disconnect and go on auto pilot, watch a film based on Karen Carpenters life where the majority of the portrayal is done by Barbies, not wear a bra, do all the domestic duties I don’t have time to do during the week, listen to various music and play mental Tetris with this or that. I could happily hermit for dayyyyyys. I had no freelance work lingering undone, no pressing errands and a post depressive episode, long work week, house to clean up. My spinal issues are a constant pain and I often get angry when I have things I need to get done and my back has other ideas. It’s difficult for me to “be kind to myself and accept my limitations” whether they be physical or mental. I believe those are fantastic things for others to do for themselves but I often end up feeling as though my various limitations yield me defective in some ways. 

2 responses to “Hermiting

  1. Agree with your post. I want to hermit due to unemployment. Right now I am going through a mania stage, where I can not focus on anything and I’m just up refusing to rest. I dread the depressed state. I think I was born defective.

    • I am sorry it has taken so long to respond to you, I’m a periodic blogger apparently. I’ve felt that way for years as well, defective. Something just doesn’t work or fire appropriately. It’s nice to know others feel this…even though I know the weight of that is heavy. I hope you’ve managed to find a somewhat balanced state and the mania wasn’t one that led to a crash and burn. I loathe the spin spinning of the mania…and dread the depressive crashes more. It’s all so exhausting.

Leave a Reply

